JACKSONVILLE – With the Tampa Bay Storm’s loss to the Spokane Shock, the Jacksonville Sharks have clinched the 2013 South Division title, the Sharks and the Arena Football League announced Saturday. Jacksonville has now won a division crown in each of the franchise’s first four seasons in the AFL, a feat unmatched in league history.

Jacksonville (10-5) has secured the division title based on tiebreaker advantage over the Storm (7-8). Even if the two teams finish with identical 10-8 records, splitting the head-to-head series, the Sharks are guaranteed to finish the season with a better record in divisional play than the Storm, thereby clinching the second tiebreaker.

The Sharks have now captured an outright division title in each of the team’s first four seasons in the AFL, becoming the first franchise to do so since the League moved to a divisional format in 1992. The Sharks are also the first team to win four consecutive division titles since the San Jose SaberCats accomplished the feat from 2000-03.

Winning the South Division ensures that the Sharks will enter the postseason as either the No. 1 or No. 2 seed in the American Conference. The Sharks will host a first-round playoff game on Saturday, August 3, with kickoff on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena set for 7:00 p.m. ET. Details regarding the purchase of playoff tickets will be announced in the coming days.

About the Jacksonville Sharks

The Jacksonville Sharks are members of the Arena Football League (AFL). The ArenaBowl XXIV and four-time South Division Champions are presented by Sea Best Seafood and play all home games on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena. Season Tickets for the 2014 season are now on sale, two tickets as low as $185. To reserve your season tickets, or for more information, please call (904) 621-0700. Follow the Sharks on facebook at and on Twitter @jaxsharks, as well as the Attack Dance Team at and Chum at

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased its fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. CBS Sports Network will broadcast an AFL National Game of the Week on Saturday nights for the entire regular season and postseason through the semifinal round. The ArenaBowl XXVI Championship Game will air on the CBS Television Network on August 17, 2013.


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009