03/16/2013 6:19 PM -

JACKSONVILLE – As training camp comes to a close, the 2012 South Division Champion Jacksonville Sharks have announced the initial 24-man lineup for a squad that will look to become the first team in Arena Football League history to win a division title in each of its first four seasons as a franchise.

The Sharks’ veteran-heavy roster features just two players – defensive lineman Rashaad Duncan and wide receiver Maurice Avery – who has yet to play a game in the AFL. 11 of the 24 players on the current Jacksonville roster played with the team in 2012, while two others – defensive lineman Justin Parrish and wide receiver Jeff Hughley – returned to the team after playing elsewhere last season.

To go along with the group of returners, Sharks head coach Les Moss and his staff added ten AFL veterans who are set don a Jacksonville uniform for the first time. The team finalized its roster with a pair of trades on Saturday, as the Sharks first acquired veteran wide receiver Hank Edwards from the San Jose SaberCats in exchange for defensive lineman Delvin Johnson. Jacksonville also made a second trade with the Arizona Rattlers in as many days, adding defensive lineman Ayanga Okpokowuruk in exchange for future considerations.

Following the day’s moves, the Sharks’ initial 24-man roster stands as follows:

      Name               Pos.   Ht.   Wt.    Exp.  School
    Bill Alford        DB    5-9    190    3    Vanderbilt
    R.J. Archer        QB    6-2    220    2    William & Mary
    Maurice Avery      WR    6-2    215    R    Memphis
    Dusty Bear         DL    6-2    250    3    Western Kentucky
    Tracy Belton       DB    6-1    180    3    Massachusetts
    Marco Capozzoli    K     6-2    210    3    Montclair State
    Thomas Claiborne   OL    6-3    340    1    Boston College
    Brant Clouser      OL    6-3    315    1    Villanova
    Rashaad Duncan     DL    6-2    315    R    Pittsburgh
    Hank Edwards       WR    6-2    185    5    Texas Southern
    Jeron Harvey       WR    6-4    220    3    Houston
    Jeff Hughley       WR/KR 5-8    175    3    Averett
    Cornelius Lewis    OL    6-5    335    2    Tennessee State
    Matt Marcorelle    DL    6-3    250    1    Delaware
    Isaac Morales      OL    6-6    315    3    Wyoming
    Bernard Morris     QB    6-4    215    3    Marshall
    Ayanga Okpokowuruk DL    6-2    260    1    Duke
    Justin Parrish     DL    6-2    255    3    Kent State
    Aaron Robbins      MLB   6-3    285    3    Wyoming
    Micheaux Robinson  DB    5-9    185    4    Otterbein
    Terrance Smith     WR/DB 6-2    198    2    South Carolina State
    Rendrick Taylor    FB    6-2    260    1    Clemson
    Nick Torresso      OL/FB 6-2    305    1    Bowling Green
    Jerry Turner       DL    6-3    265    6    Tennessee Tech

Saturday’s full list of transactions is as follows:

Offensive lineman Cornelius Lewis, defensive back Micheaux Robinson, wide receiver/defensive back Terrance Smith, Mac linebacker Aaron Robbins and wide receiver/kick returner Jeff Hughley were activated from Physically Unable to Perform.

Wide receiver Hank Edwards was traded from San Jose in exchange for defensive lineman Delvin Johnson. Defensive lineman Ayanga Okpokowuruk was traded from Arizona in exchange for future considerations.

Wide receiver London Crawford and defensive back Tanner Varner were placed on injured reserve.

Wide receiver Markee White was placed on Refused to Report.

Quarterback Lee Chapple and defensive back LaRoche Jackson were placed on recallable reassignment.

Defensive back Jamaal Fudge, wide receiver Charles Gilbert, defensive lineman Julian Hartsell, wide receiver J.J. Hayes and defensive back Cortez Stubbs were placed on reassignment.

About the Jacksonville Sharks

The Jacksonville Sharks are members of the Arena Football League (AFL). The ArenaBowl XXIV and back-to-back-to-back South Division Champions are presented by Sea Best Seafood and play all home games on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena. Season Tickets for the 2013 season are now available, two tickets as low as $185. To reserve your season tickets or for more information, please call (904) 621-0700. Follow the Sharks on facebook at and on Twitter @jaxsharks, as well as the Attack Dance Team at and Chum at