12/22/2014 11:26 AM -

JACKSONVILLE – The Arena Football League and the Jacksonville Sharks announced that the Las Vegas Outlaws have selected wide receivers Maurice Williams and Bert Reed from the Sharks’ roster in Monday’s Expansion Draft.

Williams was selected with the seventh pick of the expansion draft, at which point the Sharks elected to protect defensive back Brodrick Brown. The Outlaws then selected Reed with the 11th pick. Following Reed's selection, the Sharks were able to protect the rest of their roster.

The 27-year-old Williams (6’2”, 190) was originally acquired by Jacksonville in a trade with the Los Angeles KISS during the 2014 season. With the Sharks, Williams played in six games, totaling 30 receptions for 411 yards and five touchdowns. Williams’ most productive game came in a road contest against the Orlando Predators, as the receiver racked up 199 yards and three scores on 12 catches.

A fourth-year pro, Williams has also seen time with the KISS, the Orlando Predators and the Cleveland Gladiators. Over the course of his three-year AFL career, he has totaled 79 receptions for 948 yards and 17 scores. A native of Erie, Pa., Williams played collegiate football at Pittsburgh.

The 26-year-old Reed (5’11”, 180) originally joined the Sharks’ roster in June of 2014, but then signed with the Canadian Football League’s Winnipeg Blue Bombers before playing a game with Jacksonville. The Sharks had activated Reed’s rookie option at the end of the 2014 AFL season. The Panama City, Fla. native played his collegiate football at Florida State University.

A full recap of the expansion draft order can be found below:

1. JLB Tanner Varner, Orlando Predators
2. DL Ernest Owusu, San Jose SaberCats
3. OL Abe Markowitz, Portland Thunder
4. DL Julius Williams, Philadelphia Soul
5. DB Donovan Henley, Arizona Rattlers
6. DL B.J. Bell, Los Angeles KISS
7. WR Maurice Williams, Jacksonville Sharks
8. OL Jeff Nady, San Jose SaberCats
9. WR Gerald Young, Orlando Predators
10. OL Will Wright, Arizona Rattlers
11. WR Bert Reed, Jacksonville Sharks
12. DL Robert Rose, Cleveland Gladiators
13. DB Dion Turner, Portland Thunder

About the Jacksonville Sharks

The Jacksonville Sharks are members of the Arena Football League (AFL). The ArenaBowl XXIV and four-time South Division Champions are presented by Sea Best Seafood and play all home games on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena. Season Tickets for the 2015 season are now available, two tickets for as low as $99. To purchase your season tickets or for more information, please call (904) 621-0700. Follow the Sharks on facebook at and on Twitter @jaxsharks, as well as the Attack Dance Team at and Chum at

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2014 season. The AFL schedule culminates each season with the ArenaBowl on ESPN.